I lied.

Okay so I lied about my blog not having a purpose. I led you (my zero followers) to think that this blog is pointless, and well, it’s not. I apologize. I guess I’m not off to a very honest start here.

The point of this blog from the beginning is to share my list with friends… and I suppose strangers too (It’s bound to happen) because it’s important that this list is finished by the end of 2011. Why, you ask? Let me tell you. :]

Every year on the 31st of December, I’m sure you’re all well aware, there is a big celebration with boozing, and loud music, and a countdown and such; it’s pretty much a big deal. Since I was about ten and was able to actually understand the concept of a “new year,” in those last few hours before the ball drops I’ve wondered what the last year had accomplished. I ask myself things like, “What makes this year so important,” “Am I going to remember this year separately, specially from all the other years,” “What did I do this year that was special?” I come up with either really lousy answers or no answers at all and it makes me kind of sad. Not that I don’t have an awesome life, not that I don’t have a fun adventure every day, not that I don’t spend enough time with my friends and family (Although, I’d like to see my extended family more), that’s not it at all. It’s that I want to have something to make me feel like I haven’t wasted a year. I want something that I’ll be able to remember when they’re counting down 6…5…4… and be reassured that I accomplished something, that the year was special.

This year, I’m making that something public by putting a list on Facebook and this blog. The list is of things I’ve done and things I’ve always wanted to do. Some things are super simple and silly.. but the point is to make memories no matter what they are. This year I don’t want to be counting down to another year I won’t be able to differentiate from any other year. I want to count down to something meaningful.

This list is more like a scavenger hunt for fun, if anything. I hope that whoever’s reading this will believe in what I’m doing, whether it sounds completely pointless or not. All I want is to remember the good times. And as my years in highschool go by faster and faster, it’s nice to have these things, this list. It’ll be nice to know that wherever I end up next, how I got there, wasn’t all about the grades, it was about the fun I had too. People in programs like IB forget that sometimes, but that’s a story for another day.

I’ll be keeping track of my list right here on this blog, crossing off every item as I go. Maybe I’ll even post something about the tough or exciting ones. Maybe no one even cares, (I hope that’s not the case) but I’m doing this as documentation that I’m not wasting my time, my life isn’t dedicated completely to school or to my future. And I think everyone needs a list.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sir Walksalot
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 01:10:15

    You go girl 🙂 I ❤ you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

yellow dahlia

yellow dahlia
