Positive Thinkings

This is not part of my ToDo List, but it’s something I’ve been wanting to do.

It started about a month ago when I saw a sticky note on the window of my french portable. Written on the sticky note was a quote and hearts and whatnot. I don’t know how it got there or who it came from, but it made me happy. I thought, “Oh, you can do that? What a wonderful idea!”

A few days ago I found a little pad of paper on my mom’s desk, perfect for cute notes, and I remembered the sticky note. I realized that I could make people happy taping them around school in random places. Tuesday I taped my first inspiring note to a soap dispenser in the girls’ bathroom in the 200 hallway. The note read, “Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success. If you love what you are doing, you will be successful,” a quote from the German philosopher Albert Schweitzer. I really believe that nothing should stop you from doing the things you want to do and not letting anyone tell you something else is better. If you want to play saxophone because you like jazz music, don’t let your mom decide you will play the piano.

Tomorrow’s note will say “Keep your face always toward the sunshine and the shadows will fall behind you.” I love Walt Whitman and I think this one says a lot about how our perceptions influence our experiences. I won’t elaborate anymore on that because this would go on forever, haha!

I call these notes “positive thinkings.” Yes, I know that’s bad grammar, but it serves the purpose. I hope that, even if only one person sees the note, I can make someone’s day better. We could all use a mood-booster, especially in school.

Play the saxophone.

Leave a Reply

yellow dahlia

yellow dahlia
