#39, 42, & 51

A friend of mine had a party over spring break with no alcohol or drugs or any of those crazy things we teenagers do these days. Can you imagine? A high school party where friends gather to have a G-rated good time! Aside from throwing plastic Easter eggs at each other, experimenting with how many people we could fit on the porch swing before it broke, and playing cute kid games like manhunt and “Never have I ever,” there was quite a bit of dancing to a popular radio station that plays mainstream music (mostly hip-hop, pop, rap, etc.). I, being a white, oldies-loving kid, was unfamiliar with most of the music; however, I do love to dance. At some point in all the jumping and loud, off-key singing one girl decided to imitate the movement I was doing, almost in disbelief that I might actually consider it a dance move. To my surprise, it actually caught on among other partygoers. Yes, the dance move, later to be described as someone flossing their crotch with a towel, was a hit. This was mostly because of the move’s effect of making anyone who attempts it look like a dork; any kind of attention is good attention, right? In fact, this one awkward dance movement has enjoyed well over the usual 15 minutes of fame and has landed me, it seems, eternal glory. Now, at every event at which there is some sort of dancing, my friends will break out the move (which we’ll call the “crotch floss” for convenience). It has been known to spread like fire on such occasions, infecting other friends and nearby dancers with awkwardness. And with #39 checked off, I’ve discovered what true fame feels like; it can’t feel much better than this.

One of my favorite places to go in the whole world is my best friend’s roof. I love that it’s above most streetlights because light pollution ruins starry nights, no one on the ground can see you making it a private, relaxing, quiet place, it’s exciting in the danger of the steep slant and the small size of the window through which we crawl. It’s one of the few places I can be alone with myself and be content, rather than my usual constant need for company. My friend and I visit her roof often, but my favorite time is at night when the world is asleep and the streets are quiet allowing thoughts to be audible. However, the first time this year we hung out on her roof was during the day, which is still calming and wonderful. Other than the fact that dark shingles absorb sunlight and are, therefore, extremely hot, its nice to lay with nothing in your way of the sun except the occasional cloud. No bugs dare venture that high, no trees, no buildings, nothing exists but yourself and the sky. We goofed around up there (after putting down a blanket of course to avoid shingle burn) and took pictures and talked. Times spent on the roof with my best friend are memories that will last a lifetime; it’s where we have some of our best talks and can truly be ourselves. No matter how many times I have done #42, I will always love being on that roof.

Two weeks ago, before I left for Governor’s school, I spent most everyday at the beach with friends and every time was a new adventure. I don’t know what you consider a sandcastle, but I meant for it to mean “any type of sand creation.” Out of a heap of sand piled over my feet I sculpted a turtle. It ended up being fairly large, and longer than my arms could reach, so my friend stepped in for assistance. It was the cutest sand turtle I had ever seen; although, the legs on one side were never quite symmetrical with the legs on the other and I was being extremely OCD about the squares on the shell, having to redo them countless times before the creation was officially completed. Later, after I removed my feet, destroying our sand-pet, we went on to make a sun by the water with a wall surrounding it, blocking it from the waves. Artistic differences presented a problem with this sand creation as I wanted the sun to have long, thin, wavy rays while my friend wanted triangular rays (very unrealistic if you ask me). We ended up going in her direction with the triangular rays and it turned out to be the cutest sand sun I’ve ever seen. I would say #51 was a success, considering we didn’t bring the proper equipment for a more common sandcastle (buckets, shovels, etc.).

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ian
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 23:41:13

    So Hey…its Ian, I was creepin on yo facebook and i saw your link to your blog! I think your to-do list is freakin awesome! See you tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

yellow dahlia

yellow dahlia
