Sticking it to the Man

There are those teachers whose lessons follow us for our entire lives, touching the very core of our existence, changing the way we think. Then, there are those teachers who make us ask, “Who let this person teach children?” It is these teachers whom, while entertaining in their carelessness and ignorance, infuriate me to the highest degree. That is, until their ignorance affects my life for the better.

There were two AP Government teachers at my highschool (who will remain nameless except for Ms. W and Mr. R). Ms. W is the type of teacher who encompassed the entertaining aspects of relaxed teachers while still managing to teach and inspire her students. Mr. R is the epitome of a lazy teacher. I was blessed to have Ms. W as a teacher; however, my friend was not so lucky, but this brings me to my story and my inspiration for a new addition to my blog, which is still under construction. Every Ap Government student is assigned a textbook for which they are responsible throughout the school year. For some reason I’m not quite sure, this friend had gained possession of a second textbook, with the approval of Mr. R and was not asked to return that second textbook at the end of the year. Now, these textbooks are expensive and run anywhere from $50-100 or more, so I can assure you, Mr. R would have wanted that back. But by some slip of the mind, or the grace of God, if you will, this book has fallen into the hands of one of my friends. What would she want with a textbook for a class she’s already taken, you might ask. I, myself, asked this questioned. She could have sold it for money, given it to some other student who has yet to take the class, (or the ethically acceptable route) given it back to the teacher who had made the mistake. She did none of these things. She’s one of those people who has to make everything they do be amazing and unique, whether it’s intentional or not. I’ll admit right now, what she decided to do with this used AP Government textbook is probably the most useful thing I’ve ever done with a textbook in my life. It has now become her personal art collection book, with every page slowly becoming a beautiful watercolor painting, or inspirational writing, or mind-blowing pattern. It’s even better because of what’s underneath the paintings: the description and explanation of our government. She’s sticking it to the man.

I think it’s the most incredible idea ever and I’m so happy she’s letting me be a part of it as I have done a few paintings in the book as well. Although I’m not an incredibly talented artist like some of my other friends, I do love painting and watercolors and expressing myself and sticking it to the man. Until now, textbooks were always a thing we cared for as if it were a child, loving it, keeping it safe from rain and snow, cleaning it after dinner, keeping an eye on it at all times for fear of loosing it or, God forbid, someone taking it, and turning the pages ever so gently so as not to tear one. The fact that she has decided to turn it into something so aberrant has changed my way of thinking. Her creativity is inspirational; in fact, that’s why I have decided to create a page devoted to sticking it to the man. I’ve always been one to believe in questioning authority, and this is a perfect opportunity to do just that. I’m not sure what exactly I’ll put on this page yet. Maybe it will show some artwork from the book, or some of my personal philosophy about authority, or some of my experiences with authority which my readers and friends can read for themselves and develop their own philosophies about the Man. I’m not usually one to preach my values; you can have your own. I, however, believe in Benjamin Franklin’s words, “It is the first responsibility of every citizen to question authority.”

Leave a Reply

yellow dahlia

yellow dahlia
